The Board

Executive Board Members

Fred Zermeno, President
Madeline Shapiro, Vice President
Maggie Moe, Secretary
Nick Teel, Treasurer
John Marin, Immediate Past President
Charlotte Borst, Parliamentarian

Board Members

Maria Elena Alvarez, Guild President
Leighton Anderson
Dorothy Carras
Elizabeth Lauritsen
Joan Meister
Sandra Molina
Tim Schneider
Agnes Szekely Schwartz


Michael Salas, General Manager
Tim Kunze, Orchestra Manager, Strings
Kathy Egbert, Orchestra Manager, Winds & Librarian
Kimo Furumoto, Musical Director and Conductor

Whittier Regional Symphony Guild

Maria Elena Alvarez, President
Joan Meister, 1st Vice President
Eveline Ying, 2nd Vice President
Dolores Medrano, 3rd Vice President
Diana Jimenez, 4th Vice President
Brigitta Weger, Secretary
Charles Barth, Treasurer


Wayne Reinecke, Conductor Emeritus
Mary Herrera, Director Emeritus
Carolyn McFarland, Director Emeritus

A Message from the President:

It is a privilege and an honor to be named as president of the 86th season for the Whittier Regional Symphony by my colleagues. This is an organization that I have been following for many years. The four free concerts, their music enrichment programs that include the Young Artist Competitions, the free children’s concerts, Kids Korner and the Young Artist Competition are amazing and an amazing way to give back to the community.
We will continue to bring you the best free classical music the region has to offer with our brilliant conductor, Kimo Furumoto, and our excellent professional orchestra. We will make sure our Music Enrichment Programs thrive throughout the local schools as we continue to reach over 10,000 children a year.
Fred Zermeno, President Whittier Regional Symphony Association

Thanking the cities of Whittier, Santa Fe Springs, Pico Rivera, Janice Hahn and the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors for their continued support.